## "Claimant groups counting down"



The three Ngāti Raukawa claimants groups met on 14 March to discuss progress regarding the iwi/hapū's Waitangi Tribunal claims process. The groups comprise Te Hono ki Raukawa, Tūmatanui and Tū Te Manawaroa. They were hosted by Tukorehe Marae at Kuku and the meeting was jointly chaired by Lindsay Poutama and Te Kenehi Teira.

The three claims management groups have each been accepted as Approved Māori Clients by the Crown Forestry Rental Trust. The Trust funds iwi with forestry interests to complete claims research, prepare and present evidence to the Waitangi Tribunal.

Te Hono ki Raukawa was formed by a Hui-a-Iwi with over 100 attendees in 2008 to support all hapu through the claims process; whilst Tumatanui and Tu Te Manawaroa have emerged more recently, each focused on the claims that are affiliated to them.

Te Hono is a coalition of Ngāti Raukawa, Te Reureu and Ngāti Kauwhata with its Council members elected at a hui-a-iwi, the Chair is Dennis Emery. Tūmatanui comprises claims related to Ngāti Kauwhata, Ngāti Hikitanga Te Paea and Ngāti Wehiwehi amongst others. Finally, Tu Te Manawaroa includes the interests of some of the hapū situated north of Levin and in the Himatangi/Foxton area and Te Iwi o Ngāti Tukorehe.

At the March meeting, the groups reported on their activity and research. Te Hono ki Raukawa spoke about their oral and traditional history project which is nearing completion and will be launched to the iwi in late April; Tū Te Manawaroa advised that their research project is now underway and is making good progress. Tūmatanui's research report was completed by Peter McBurney in July 2018.

The tribunal hearings are scheduled to begin in September 2019 and the three groups acknowledged the need to work together to support the iwi to bring the claims to the Tribunal in a well organised and managed way.

Article	190417-004	Word count	310
Contributor	Whare Akuhata		
Photo file name	190417-004		
Photo caption	Cluster hui attendees Rear (from left to right): Paddy Jacobs, Jerry Jacobs, Dennis Emery, Donna Hall, Sir Taihakurei Durie, Lindsay Poutama, Kelly Bevan, Te Kenehi Teira, Larry Parr, Ted Devonshire Front (from left to right): Yvonne Wilson Wehipeihana, Rachael Selby, Deanna Rudd, Tū Te Manawaroa legal advisor.		
Approved	Daphne 17 April 2019		